Sky lanterns and fireworks will be banned in Bangkok in wake of aviation safety concern and fires.

The decision to ban sale of sky lanterns and fireworks was made at the meeting of concerned government agencies and the Bangkok Metropolitan Administration (BMA) yesterday.

The meeting, chaired by Bangkok governor MR Sukhumbhand Paribatra, was called as the Loy Krathong festival which saw fireworks were often played and sky lanterns were floated into the air previously is coming close on November 25.

Apart from reaching the sale ban of fireworks and sky lanterns, all relevant authorities agreed to set up joint administrative centres to oversee security procedures and provide convenience for revellers.

Rescue and medical boats will patrol along the Chao Phraya river and ready to respond to unexpected incidents, while road checkpoints will be set up to check drunk driving and speeding to ensure road safety for motorists and revellers celebrating the festival.

The BMA will arrange six major Loy Krathong venues for celebrants in the city which included Klong Phadung Krung Kasem beside Government House which has turned a new festival area.

Five other festival venues are Rama 8 Bridge, Rama 9 Bridge, Lumpini Park, Nawaminpirom Park. and Santi Chaiprakarn Park.

Meanwhile Chiang Mai authorities have also banned the release of sky lanterns in five districts during the Yee Peng festival on November 24, as the activity poses a risk to aircraft.

But they are free to do so on November 25 and on December  31 to mark the Loy Krathong and New Year Eve celebrations since flights are being rescheduled to accommodate the activity on those days.

The lantern release is the mainstay of the Yee Peng annual festival held to celebrate the full moon in the northern capital, preceding Loy Krathong by one day in November.

The areas subject to the ban are Muang district; Hang Dong district; Nong Harn sub-district of San Sai district; Muang Kaew, Don Kaew, Rim Tai and Mai Sa sub-districts of Mae Rim district; and Nong Pueng, Kuew Mung, Dong Kaew, San Sai and Ta Wang Tan sub-districts of Saraphi district.