Royals and dignitaries from 42 countries to attend Royal Cremation Ceremony on Oct 26

The Foreign Ministry revealed today (Oct 24) that members of the royal families and dignitaries from 42 countries have confirmed to attend the Royal Cremation of His Majesty the late King Bhumibol Adulyadej on Oct 26.

Foreign Minister Don Pramudwinai said of the 42 countries, 24 countries will have their royal heads of states, heads of states and royal family members attending the ceremony, and 18 countries will have their deputy heads of states, government leaders, and special representatives attending the ceremony.

He said further that the placing of sandalwood flowers at Royal Thai embassies abroad will take place at the same time as at the Royal Crematorium at Sanam Luang at 4.30pm on Oct 26.

He said all Thai embassies, offices of Thai permanent representatives, and consulates located in the same time zone, or close to Thailand will hold the sandalwood flowers ceremonies at 4.30 pm on Oct 26.

For those locating in different time zones, they will fix appropriate time for the ceremonies, but would not be before the time of the Royal Cremation Ceremony at Sanam Luang.

The royal ceremony will be broadcast live for both Thai and foreign audience to watch simultaneously, he said.

List of royals and foreign dignitaries from 42 countries who have confirmed to attend the Royal Cremation Ceremony of King Bhumibol Adulyadej on Oct 26.

1.Kingdom of Lesotho: H.M. King Letsie III and H.M. Queen Masenate Mohato Seeiso

2.Kingdom of Bhutan: H.M. King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck and H.M. Queen Ashi Jetsun Pema Wangchuck

3.Kingdom of Tonga: H.M. King Tupou VI and H.M. Queen Nanasipau’u

4.Republic of the Union of Myanmar:  President U Htin Kyaw and his spouse Mrs. Su Su Lwin

5.Lao People’s Democratic Republic: President Bounnhang Vorachith and his spouse Mrs. Khammueng Vorachith

6.Republic of Singapore: President Halimah Yacob and her spouse Mr. Mohamed Abdullah Alhabsee

7.Kingdom of Sweden: H.M. Queen Silvia

8.Kingdom of the Netherlands: H.M. Queen Maxima

9.Kingdom of Belgium: H.M. Queen Mathilde

10.Kingdom of Spain:  H.M. Queen Sofia, the former Queen of Spain

11.Commonwealth of Australia: H.E. General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove and Lady Cosgrove

12.Canada: The Right Honourable Madame Julie Payette

13.Republic of Indonesia: Former President Megawati Soekarnoputri

14.Swiss Confederation: Former President Joseph Deiss

15.Federal Republic of Germany: Former President Christian Wulff

16.Kingdom of Bahrain: H.R.H Prime Minister Prince Khalifa bin Salman Al Khalifa

17. Kingdom of Denmark: H.R.H. Crown Prince Frederik

18.Kingdom of Norway: H.R.H. Crown Prince Haakon Magnus

19.Grand Duchy of Luxembourg: Hereditary Grand Duke Guillaume Jean Joseph Marie

20.Malaysia:  H.R.H. the Sultan of Perak Darul Ridzuan Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah Al-Maghfur-Lah and H.R.H. Tuanku Zara Salim the Raja Permaisuri of Perak Darul Ridzuan

21.United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland: H.R.H. Prince Andrew, Duke of York

22.Japan: H.I.H. Prince Akishino and H.I.H. Princess Akishino

23.State of Qatar: H.H. Prince Thani bin Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani

24.Principality of Liechtenstein: H.R.H Princess Margaretha

25.Socialist Republic of Vietnam: Vice President Dang Thi Ngoc Thinh

26.Kingdom of Cambodia: Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen

27.Kingdom of Swaziland: Prime Minister Barnabas Sibusiso Dlamini

28.New Zealand:  Former Prime Minister James Bolger

29.French Republic: Former prime minister Jean-Marc Ayrault and his spouse Mrs. Brigitte Ayrault

30.People’s Republic of China: Deputy Prime Minister Zhang Gaoli

31.Republic of Turkey: Deputy Prime Minister Fikri Işik

32.Republic of Korea: Deputy House Speaker Pak Joo-sun

33.Russian Federation: Deputy of the State Duma Olga Epifanova

34.Brunei Darussalam: Prime Minister’s Office Minister Hon. Pehin Dato Lim Jock Seng

35.United States of America: Defense Secretary James M. Mattis

36.Republic of the Philippines: Foreign Minister Alan Peter S. Cayetano and his spouse Mrs. Maria Laarni Cayetano

37.Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka: Foreign Minister Tilak Marapana and his spouse Mrs. Stella Marapana

38.Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal: Defense Minister Bhimsen Das Pradhan and his spouse Mrs. Bidya Banmali Pradhan

39.Islamic Republic of Pakistan: Federal Minister for Power Division Awais Ahmed Khan Leghari

40.People’s Republic of Bangladesh: State minister for foreign affairs Mohammed Sahriar Alam

41.Republic of India: Minister of State for External Affairs M. J. Akbar

42.The Holy See: H.E. Archbishop Giambattista Diquattro