“Prayut 5” cabinet line-up get royal endorsement

A new cabinet line-up, which involves changes in more than 10 ministries, has been endorsed by His Majesty the King and published in the Royal Gazette on Friday (Nov 24).

Three military officers who have been removed from the cabinet are: Deputy Prime Minister Gen Tanasak Patimapragorn; Deputy Prime Minister ADM Narong Pipatanasai; and Deputy Defence Minister Gen Udomdej Seetabutr.

Other departing ministers are Prime Minister’s Office Minister Ormsin Chivapruk and Tourism and Sports Minister Mrs Kobkarn Wattanavrangkul.

General Udomdej was replaced by Gen Chaicharn Changmongkol as the new deputy defence minister.


The Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives faced the massive change with Grisda Boonrach is appointed the new Agriculture Minister, replacing Gen Chatchai Sarikulya who becomes deputy prime minister.

Deputy Agriculture Minister Chutima Bunyapaphasara becomes Deputy Commerce Minister, while Wiwat Salyakamthorn and Luck Wajananawat are appointed deputy ministers for Agriculture.

Mr Wiwat, an agricultural expert, and Mr Luck, a former president of the Bank for Agriculture and Agriculture Cooperatives, are among the new comers in Prayut cabinet.

Commerce Minister Apiradi Tantraporn was succeeded by her deputy Sontirat Sontijirawong.

Weerasak Kowsurat, another new comer, has been appointed Tourism and Sports Minister, replacing Mrs Kobkarn. Mr Weerasak used to hold the post in the Samak Sundaravej administration.

Deputy Prime Minister ACM Prajin Juntong is also appointed Justice Minister.