All fights to Nakhon Si Thammarat for Friday cancelled

All fights from Don Meuang airport to Nakhon Si Thammarat for Friday (Dec 8) have been cancelled as flood situation in this southern province remains serious.

Passengers who have advance bookings with Nok Air, Thai Lion Air and Air Asia which operate flights to Nakhon Si Thammarat can contact the companies to change flights or switch routes to nearby provinces, according to Airports of Thailand Company.

Regarding the flood situation in the province, it was reported that floodwater level in the municipal area remained stable at 60-100 cm deep on Thursday (Dec 7) and roads were impassable to most vehicles as residents resorted to boats as a means of travelling.

Efforts to pump water out of the municipal area were hampered by shortage of water pumps and the fact that water from the outer areas continued to flow into the municipality.

Transport Company’s bus terminal remains closed with the parking lot and ticket-selling building under water of about one-foot deep. The municipal fresh market was flooded and officials said it would take a couple of days before the water could be pumped out.

Overall, about 300,000 people in Nakhon Si Thammarat have been affected by flooding regarded as worse than it was in the past several years.

Meanwhile, the Thai Meteorological Department, warned that southern provinces from Prachuab Khiri Khan down to Chumphon, Surat Thani and Nakhon Si Thammarat would face heavy rain in certain areas on Friday (Dec 8), then the rain would move further downward.

People in Phatthalung, Songkhla, Pattani, Yala and Narathiwat were warned to brace for heavy rain on Friday and Saturday which might result in flash flood and overflowing rivers and canals.

In the meantime, the Department of Public Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department warned of mudslides on Thursday until Monday (Dec 11) in the following areas:

Chumphon: Muang, Tha Sae, Sawi, Lang Suan, Thung Tako and Phato districts

Surat Thani: Ko Samui and Don Sak districts

Nakhon Si Thammarat: Chang Klang, Chawang, Phipun, Tha Sala, Sichon, Nopphitam, Khanom, Lan Saka, Ron Phibun and Na Bon districts

Phatthalung:  Si Banphot and Srinagarindra districts

Songkhla: Saba Yoi and Rattaphum districts

Trang: Huai Yot and Na Yong districts

Yala: Bannang Sata and Than To districts

Satun: Thung Wa district

Pattani: Khok Pho, Mayo and Thung Yang Daeng districts

Narathiwat:  Sukhirin and Si Sakhon districts