Agriculture permanent secretary axed by cabinet

 Agriculture permanent secretary Theerapat Prayurasiddhi has been removed from his post and transferred to an inactive post at the Prime Minister’s Office by an order of the cabinet.

The source added that the cabinet did not appoint a successor to Mr Theerapat.

There are two qualified candidates for the permanent secretary’s post. They are Mr Somchai Charnnarongkul, director-general of Agricultural Extension Department, and Mr Lertviroj Kowattana, deputy permanent secretary.

The source described the two candidates as equally suitable, capable and senior.

In another development, the cabinet on Tuesday approves the appointments of 21 Interior Ministry officials including the new director general of the Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department, deputy permanent secretaries and provincial governors.

In the new appointments, Chayapol Thitisak, a deputy permanent secretary for interior, will be director-general of the Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department, replacing Chalerm Promlert, who has been appointed permanent secretary of the Interior Ministry.

The 20 other appointments are as follows:

— Nathapong Sirichana, deputy permanent secretary, to be governor of Nakhon Nayok;
— Nisit Chansomwong, Nonthaburi governor, to be a deputy permanent secretary;
— Supachai Iamsuwan, Phitsanulok governor, to be a deputy permanent secretary;
— Thanee Tanyaphol, Kamphaeng Phet governor, to be an inspector-general;
— Phanu Yaemsiri, Lop Buri governor, to be Nonthaburi governor;
— Phakapong Tawipat, Phangnga governor, to be Phitsanulok governor;
— Sittichai Sakda, Narathiwat governor, to be Phangnga governor;
— Chaiwat Chuenkosum, Ratchaburi governor, to be Loei governor;
— Chayawut Chanthorn, Udon Thani governor, to be Ratchaburi governor;
— Wattana Puthichart; Phrae governor, to be Udon Thani governor;
— Songpol Sawasditham, Songkhla governor, to be Lampang governor;
— Doldej Pattanarath, Yala governor, to be Songkhla governor;
— Somsak Jangtrakul, Ubon Ratchathani governor, to be Khon Kaen governor;
— Sarit Withoon, Roi-et governor, to be Ubon Ratchathani governor;
— Wanchai Kongkasem, Phatthalung governor, to be Roi-et governor;
— Nimit Wanchaithanawong, Chai Nat governor, to be Suphan Buri governor;
— Somchai Witdamrong, Nakhon Phanom governor, to be Chachoengsao governor;
— Channa Iamsaeng, Trat governor, to be Nakhon Pathom governor;
— Pipat Ekapappan, Uttaradit governor, to be Sukhothai governor; and,
— Pinit Boonlert, Krabi governor, to be Pathum Thani governor.

The appointments are effective from Oct 1.