17 national artists announced and honored

Seventeen national artists were announced on Friday (Jan 19) by Deputy Prime Minister Wissanu Krea-ngam in his capacity as chairman of the National Culture Commission.

The national artists are divided into three categories: five in visual arts, three in literature and nine in performance arts.

The five national artists in visual arts are: Somsak Chowtadapong (painting), Saravudth Duangjumpa (sculpture), Sawat Thettham (sculpture), Somchai Kawthong (fashion design),  and Sinn Phonghanyudh (architecture).

The three national artists in literature are: Mrs Pensri Kiengsiri, Piboonsak Lakornpon and Tepsiri Sooksopa. 

The nine national artists in performing arts are:  Mrs Surang Duriyapan (music composing), Mrs Rattiya Vikasitphongse (Thai traditional dance), Mrs Boonsri Rattanang, (Lanna music),  Virat Yuthavorn (western music), Thanpuying Varaporn Pramoj Na Ayudhya (western classical dance), Pimpatipan Pungtamjit (Thai popular music), Professor Mattani Rutnin (stage play), Euthana Mukdasanit (movie and TV opera), Khanet “Rong” Khaomoonkadee (movie and TV opera).

Mr Wissanu said each of the national artists would receive a monthly allowance of 25,000 baht plus medical coverage in accordance with official regulations and 50,000 baht in compensation is case of a natural disaster and 20,000 baht funeral fee plus 150,000 baht to cover printing cost of obituary books.